Tyrone Benskin recognizes recipients of the 2011 Goldbloom Awards during House of Commons session

October 27, 2011 – Mr. Tyrone Benskin (Jeanne-Le Ber, NDP):  

    Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the recipients of the Quebec Community Groups Network’s 2011 Sheila and Victor Goldbloom Distinguished Community Service Award.

    This year, three exemplary women, Ms. Joan Ivory, Ms. Gemma Raeburn-Baynes and Ms. Aline Visser, were recognized for their lifetime of selfless service in volunteerism to the cities and regions of Quebec. These distinguished women are a shining example of how anglophone Quebecers have dedicated themselves to the vitality of their communities and the richness of Quebec society.

    The award namesakes, Sheila and Victor Goldbloom, have themselves demonstrated their passion for giving for much of their 63 years together. They, and many other anglophone Quebecers who work alongside their dedicated French counterparts, make Quebec the most special and unique part of Canada.

    I congratulate these individuals and the QCGN for their tireless work throughout Quebec and their success at building bridges among their neighbours. Their work recognizes the fact that as Québécois and Québécoise we are all one and that, through their efforts and such dedicated individuals and organizations, we can celebrate the beauty, passion and strength that is Quebec.

 Click here to access the full report